Foundation:: It’s not M.A.C it’s Me

For years I have been a massive M.A.C makeup fan. I think their quality, and packaging is great, and while they are on the pricier side of the spectrum, I don’t know where I would be without some of my staple M.A.C products in my makeup collection. However that being said, I recently haven’t been having any luck with their foundation line. Perhaps their products just aren’t as great as I once thought, or perhaps it’s just my stubborn, dry winter skin refusing to cooperate that is to blame.

I bought my first M.A.C pressed powder foundation roughly six years ago. The shade was recommended to me from the sales associate, and looked great when applied in the store. To my dismay though, the following day when I applied it to myself, I looked like I had just eaten my weight in carrots, A.K.A, I was bright orange. Being young and inexperienced with makeup I assumed there was something wrong with my application skills, and continued to use less and less of the product with each application until it was done, hoping that eventually it would stop making me orange. Spoiler alert, it never did.

Obviously to anyone who knows anything about makeup, this was thankfully just a case of a poorly recommended colour mismatch, and while it turned me off of M.A.C foundations for years after, I was turned back onto it roughly a year ago after trying out a friends M.A.C studio fix fluid. It was love at first sight, and my faith in M.A.C foundations had returned. That is until this winter, when my skin decided to dry up like the Sahara desert, and that once wonderful product, was no longer quite so wonderful.

Since then I feel like I have tried all of their foundations in the hopes of finding the right one for me. Okay, so maybe not all of them, but all of the ones recommended to me including the studio sculpt, the mineralize moisture, and the match master liquid foundations, and all of them leave me feeling slightly less than disappointed. I’m constantly feeling flakey, cakey, and like the foundation is going to crack off my face any minute. Perhaps M.A.C lacks a line that gives a full coverage while still maintaining a semi matte finish for dry skin, or maybe it’s just me, I don’t know.

All I can hope for is that when the weather improves, so will my dry skin, and maybe I can put these foundations to good use. Nevertheless I still remain a big M.A.C makeup fan, and I will continue to waste my money on expensive brands such as M.A.C because that’s what addicts do, no matter how hard my wallet begs me to stop.

I’ve tried moisturizers, masks, and primers, but none of them are solving my M.A.C foundation problem. So if anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them. But don’t worry M.A.C, it’s me, not you, and I’m not going anywhere!

Leave a Reply

