Life Without a Car

It’s strange, the day that my dad told me that our car had broken down for good, and that it would be a while before we got a new one I literally thought the world had come to an end. And for the first few weeks it had. It was right before Christmas which meant Christmas shopping would be harder, and worst of all we wouldn’t be able to go on nightly drives to look at rich people’s houses Christmas lights (which by the way, I’m still bitter about). It was hard, I hated it, and I couldn’t wait until we got a new car. 

But while the first few weeks felt like hell, and I mean sometimes still do, it’s not quite as bad as I thought it would be. I’m lucky we live in Toronto so taking the bus is more convenient than in other cities, and even though it sucks that it takes so much longer to get from point A to point B, I’ve weirdly adjusted really well. now I’m not saying I still can’t wait for us to get a car again, I don’t like waking up earlier than necessary for school, but I’m kind of okay without one. 

I think its weird how when changes first happen, they really throw us off, but it’s also really easy to adjust to certain situations. It just goes to show that things aren’t always as bad as they seem. I mean we really do take things for granted, but are also really spoiled, because we don’t need aid things to survive. I thought I wouldn’t be able to go without a car for more than a few weeks simply because my entire life, my family always had a car. However I’m kind of glad that this has happened because it really opened my eyes to how spoiled I’ve been my entire life. 

Having a car or not having a car isn’t the end of the world. It’s more of a convenience and a luxury, more than a nessessesity. Daily tasks aren’t that hard to deal with without a car, and if anything I’ve grown not to feel much difference or even like I’m missing something most days. So for anyone out there, who is going through any sort of material loss, give it some time, you will realize that yes you can live without it, and while life may be easier with it, it’s still do-able without it.

 

Leave a Reply

