Naked Palettes:: The Perfect 3some

For years I have been a huge fan of all cosmetics by Urban Decay, and when they came out with their Naked Palette roughly 2 years ago I definitely wasn’t disappointed. What always stood out to be about their products was that whether you got their eyeliner, or their eye shadow, high pigmentation was always guaranteed, and when your spending $40 for an eye shadow palette, you would certainly hope so.

Personally I think that coming out with the Naked Palette had to be one of Urban Decays strongest career moves. When I first started using their products very few people knew of Urban Decay products, everyone knew of Sephora, and Nars, and MAC, but no one has a clue what Urban Decay was, however all of that changed when they came out with their first Naked palette. And now if you ask any female who knows even a little bit about makeup, what Urban Decay is, they will tell you, the company who makes the Naked palette.

Two years ago I received the naked palette for Christmas, loved it, and to this day use if on a regular basis. One thing I love about it aside from being pigmented, is that even though I use it more than any other eye shadow I own, (and trust me, I own quite a few) it still hasn’t touched pan on any of the colours, meaning that yes it does cost $62 dollars, but yes it will last you, and be worth the investment. Today I completed what Urban Decay likes to call their “perfect Threesome” and now own the Naked 1, 2 , and 3, as well as the Naked Basic palette, and I’m not in any way disappointed.

The Perfect 3some

The Perfect 3some

I love that each set has a different theme, one being warm neutrals, 2 being taupe’s, and 3 being rose, so no matter what your skin tone you can find a palette that works for you. Each palette comes with its own brush, and they are very decent brushes unlike the cheap ones that come with most eye shadow palettes. Like I said earlier the pigmentation on all the eye shadows is incredible and you can get amazing outcomes even without using a primer. There’s honestly not much I don’t like from these palettes, at one point I did wish that they came with more matte shades, however once I got the basics palette I realized you really don’t need more matte shades than they offer to get any look you want.

There are really only two things about the Naked Palettes that I’m not a huge fan of. The first is that in the Naked 1 and the Naked 2 there is one duplicate in colours and that is with the colour Half Baked. Considering you are spending $62 on each palette I would like for each palette to have an entirely unique colour selection, and no I’m not just saying this because ironically Half Baked happens to be my least favourite colour of all the colours in all the Naked Palettes. But other than that one double all the other colours seem to be unique to each palette. My final complaint would actually be the price. When I first got the Naked Palette in 2011 it was sold for $45 dollars, and correct me if I’m wrong but I specifically remember perhaps only 6 months ago the Palettes being sold for $52 and now they are being sold for $62. I do think they are worth the price, but I do question the increase. If the product is in higher demand I don’t understand why Urban Decay would feel the need to raise the price, when most items out there on the market seem to decrease in price as the demand increases, but I guess, what do I know about business right?

Other than that the Naked palettes are amazing. I honestly believe that if you have all three you have everything you need in order to do any neutral look you want. Perhaps I will do some tutorials with them one of these days in order to show the versatility of the Naked Palettes. If anyone out there likes to wear neutrals, or wants to start getting into neutrals give the Naked palettes a shot, you won’t be let down. and anyone out there new to makeup and don’t quite know where to start out I would HIGHLY suggest starting with a Naked palette, it’s great for learning and just a great piece to have in any makeup collection whether you only have one of the 3, just the basics, or all three they are something that will get loads and loads of use out of them.

Leave a Reply

