Can’t Sleep Always Tired

Every morning I wake up super tired, not wanting to get out of bed, and the only thing that does is counting the hours until I get to come home and go back to sleep. no it’s not quite as depressing as that sounds. you see I feel like I have this disorder like I’m a bat of something where at night sleep just isn’t what I want to be doing, but during the day when the sun is out, sleep is like the best thing in the world.

It all started out two summers ago when my schedule increasingly began to be altered. it started out with going to bed every night at 2 am and waking up at 11am, then it turned to 4 in the morning and waking up at 12:30pm, and then all of a sudden I realized that I couldn’t fall asleep until I started to see the sun come up, which of course left me sleeping in until 1pm, sometimes 2pm. it’s not like I was necessarily out all hours of the night, I just got into this stupid schedule waking up to late that I was never tired at night.

So soon September rolled around and school forced me to start sleeping earlier as I would have to wake up earlier as well. only one problem, I would be so tired from waking up so early, that I would come home from school, take a nap, not be tired at night, go to bed late all the time still, and the vicious cycle began. A few months into this I told my dad about this problem he proceeded to tell me that as a child I wasn’t allowed to nap during the day because it would keep me up all night… well thanks for letting me take naps every day after school. I guess genetically I’m just not made to take naps.

So I’ve stopped taking afternoon naps, well at least I try not to, but I’m still always so tired. I still have a hard time falling asleep before 12am, and I’m always tired waking up as 7, and feel the need to now as soon as I get home. I don’t know why my sleeping schedule is still so off. like I said, I think I’m nocturnal, it’s weird, aren’t cats kind of nocturnal? Perhaps it runs in the names family. 

Does anyone else have this problem? Maybe other students? I’ve tried everything but the minute I have a day off where I don’t HAVE to wake up early, I simply can’t wake up before it’s too late, and I’m left staying up all night for lack of time spent awake that day. 

 

Leave a Reply

